Bleecker & Prince : Zodiac Collection

Oh hey, hey, hey! Past August, Lehee, designer at Bleecker & Prince, shared a photo on her IG of one of her new pieces. A pendant from her upcoming Zodiac Collection. Instant love! Yes, I know, I always say this. But it’s always true. What I loved about seeing that photo was the fact it wasn’t a traditional kind of Zodiac creation. It was engraved with symbols. Mysterious right? Well, they do make sense though!
Let me explain:
All zodiac signs are engraved with two symbols, polarity and modality.

Polarity – the top symbol – contrasted properties.
Modality – the bottom symbol – is the type of behavior, expression or way of life that belongs to a particular person or group of people.
Keep scrolling down to learn more about these!

Polarity, aka the Four Elements:
Fire: representing action and creativity – Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius.
Water: symbolizing emotions – Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces.
Air: corresponding to the intellect – Libra, Aquarius, and Gemini.
Earth: which stands for substance and practicality – Capricorn, Taurus, and Virgo.

The Modalities:
The cardinal modality marks the beginning of the season and the power of initiation – Capricorn, Libra, Cancer and Aries.
The fixed modality corresponds to the middle of the season and the power of sustaining – Taurus, Aquarius, Scorpio and Leo.
The mutable modality represents the end of the season and the power of change – Virgo, Gemini, Pisces and Sagittarius.

So, in September, I celebrated my 32nd birthday. Well, didn’t do anything but what I did was gifting myself a piece and that’s how I ended up contacting Lehee to make me a Zodiac pendant with my daughter’s sign, Aquarius. So pictured here in this post is her pendant, which Imke will own someday…just not now, hehe. Top symbol is the element/polarity air. The bottom part is the modality symbol for fixed. The back is engraved with Imke’s name and birth date in Roman numerals.
Also, note that not all pendants of this collection are round ones. Depending on the design, some are rectangular and others are round like my Aquarius piece. Pictured below is the Cancer pendant, water and cardinal.

So like I said, this ain’t a traditional Zodiac collection. I just love the use of these symbols. I probably won’t remember them all…my short term memory ain’t no longer working that well due to giving birth or so but I’ll remember about my Aquarius pendant, which will always be a sentimental piece to me.

Images by MoJ + Bleecker & Prince